Tucson Festival of Books

Tucson Festival of Books 2013

Children’s and Teen Authors and Illustrators

Saturday Children and Teen Author Events
Sunday Children and Teen Author Events
Children’s and Teens Master Schedule pdf

Tucson Festival of Books Main Site

Alan Armstrong – Author of middle grade historical fiction novels – www.randomhouse.com
Racing the Moon, Raleigh’s Page, Wittington (
Newbery Honor)

Simon Arizpe – Pop-up Book Designer. www.simonarizpe.com
Star Wars, A Pop-Up Guide to the Galaxy
(Reinhart) and Encyclopedia Prehistorica Dinosaurs (Sabuda and Reinhart).

Heather Brewer – Author of fantasy and vampire novels for teens – www.heatherbrewer.com
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites (graphic novel, January 2013), The Slayer Chronicles: Second Chance, The Legacy of Tril: Soulbound. Vladimir Tod Series.

Elise Broach – Author of middle grade novels and picture books – www.elisebroach.com
Treasure on Superstition Mountain, Missing on Superstition Mountain, Masterpiece, Gumption! When Dinosaurs Came with Everything.

Peter Brown – Illustrator/Author of picture books – www.peterbrownstudio.com
Creepy Carrots,
YOU WILL BE MY FRIEND, Children Make Terrible Pets, Chowder, The Curious Garden.

Mary Casanova – Author of the American Girl McKenna series, picture books, and YA novels.
Frozen (YA novel)
, McKenna and McKenna: Ready to Fly (American Girl), Chrissa Stands Strong (American Girl), Utterly Otterly Night. www.marycasanova.com

Cinda Williams Chima. Author of YA Fantasy – http://www.cindachima.com/
The Crimson Crown, The Demon King, The Warrior Heir
. Seven Realms series

Floyd Cooper – Illustrator and author of picture books – www.floydcooper.com
Something to Prove
(2013), In the Land of Milk and Honey, These Hands, Beach Tale

Bruce Coville – author of middle grade novels – www.brucecoville.com
Always October, Amber Brown is Tickled Pink
, My Teacher is an Alien, Unicorn Chronicles.

Elizabeth Eulberg- Author of YA humorous realistic fiction – http://www.elizabetheulberg.com/
Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality (3/2013), Take a Bow, Prom & Prejudice

Gayle Forman – Author of YA realistic fiction – http://www.gayleforman.com/
If I Stay, Where She Went, Just One Day

Jessie Hartland – Author/illustrator of nonfiction picture books – http://www.jessiehartland.com/
Bon Appetit! The Delicious Life of Julia Child; How the Dinosaur Got to the Museum
.

Margaret Peterson Haddix – Author of middle grade and YA novels - www.haddixbooks.com
Caught (Missing Series), Game Changer, The Always War. Missing
series and Shadow Children Series.

Jennifer Holm – middle grade and YA novels, Graphic series on Babymouse and Squish
Turtle in Paradise, Eighth Grade is Making Me Sick, Babymouse for President, Squish: Captain Disaster  
www.jenniferholm.com

A.S. King – author of adolescent novels that address social issues – www.as-king.com
Ask the Passengers, Everybody Sees the Ants, Please Ignore Vera Dietz
.

Nancy Krulik – author of series books for young readers – http://www.katiekazoo.com/nancy
Katie Kazoo Switcheroo series and George Brown, Class Clown series

Lester Laminack – Author of picture books for children and professional books for educators
Three Hens and a Peacock, Saturdays and Teacakes, Bullying Hurts: Teaching Kindness Through Read Alouds and Guided Conversations.
www.lesterlaminick.com

Joanne Levy – author of a humorous middle grade novel
Small Medium at Large
http://joannelevy.com/

Vaunda Micheaux Nelson – historical picture books and biography for middle grades
No Crystal Stair, Bad News for Outlaws.

Jennifer Nielsen. Author of middle grade and YA fantasy. http://www.jennielsen.com/
The False Prince, The Runaway King
(March 2013). Elliot and the Goblin War.

Matt Phelan – illustrator of picture books and graphic novels. www.mattphelan.com
Around the World, Flora’s Very Windy Day, The Storm in the Barn.

Jerry Pinkney – illustrator/author. Caldecott Medal Winner – www.jerrypinkneystudio.com/
The Lion and the Mouse, Puss in Boots, Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, John Henry

Antonio Sacre Storyteller and author of bilingual picture books www.antoniosacre.com
A Mango in the Hand: A Story Told Through Proverbs; The Barking Mouse

Monika Schröder – international author of books for teens – www.monikaschroder.com
My Brother’s Shadow, Saraswati’s Way, The Dog in the Wood

Joyce Sidman – writer of poetry for children – www.joycesidman.com
Swirl by Swirl, Dark Emperor and other Poems of the Night (
Newbery Honor), The World According to Dog, Red Swings from Treetops.

Alan Sitomer – author of novels for teens and picture books – www.alanlawrencesitomer.com
Nerd Girls – A Catastrophe of Nerdish Proportions, Nerd Girls: The Rise of the Dorkasaurus, Daddies Do It Different (picture book), The Downside of Being Up

Maggie Stiefvater – author of fantasy for teens and young adults – http://maggiestiefvater.com/
The Raven Boys, Scorpio Races,
Shiver Trilogy — Shiver, Linger, Forever

R. L. Stine – Author, Scary books and horror, Goosebumps and Fear Street, http://rlstine.com/
Goosebumps Most Wanted #2: Son of Slappy (1/13), Goosebumps Most Wanted: The Haunted Mask, Goosebumps Most Wanted: Planet of the Lawn Gnomes

Tamara Ireland Stone – author of YA romance book – www.tamarairelandstone.com
Time between Us

Linda Urban – Author of middle grade novels and picture books – www.lindaurbanbooks.com
The Center of Everything (3/2013), Hound Dog True, Crooked Kind of Perfect

Pat Wilson – stories and songs for children – Braille – www.icantseebuticanimagine.com
I Can’t See . . . But I Can Imagine
(print/Braille edition with CD)

Jacqueline Woodson – author of middle grade/teen novels and picture books
Each Kindness, Beneath the Meth Moon, If You Come Softly/Behind You, Pecan Pie Baby, Locomotion, Show Way.
www.jacquelinewoodson.com

Arizona Authors and Illustrators

Jean Ekman Adams – Illustrator/Author of picture books
When Dogs Dream
(3/2013), A Cowgirl and Her Horse, Clarence Goes Out West and Meets a Purple Horse.

Lynne Avril - illustrator – www.lynneavril.com
Amelia Bedelia’s First Vote, Amelia Bedelia Sleeps Over , Every Cowgirl Loves a Rodeo

Robin Brande – Author of middle grade fiction – www.robinbrande.com
Secret Security Squad
(Books 2 and 3), Doggirl, Replay

Bradley Carroll – Author of nonfiction on law – Lawmadefun.com
Law Made Fun through Harry Potter’s Adventures.

James Deem – Author of nonfiction books for middle grades – www.jamesmdeem.com
Faces from the Past: Forgotten People of North America
, Bodies from the Ice.

Maxwell Eaton III –Author/Illustrator of picture books and graphic novelswww.maxwelleaton.com
The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Evil Penguin, The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business, Two Dumb Ducks
.

Levi Fallavollita – Author, picture book on bullying. Twelve-year-old activist. www.thegoodthebadandthebullies.com
The Good, The Bad, and the Bullies

Amy Fellner Dominy – Author, realistic fiction, middle grades – www.amydominy.com
Audition and Subtraction, OyMG

Nancy Bo Flood – author of books for teens and picture books – www.nancyflood.com
Cowboy Up: Ride the Navajo Rodeo
(3/2013), No-Name Baby, Warriors in the Crossfire

Chris Gall – author and illustrator of picture books – www.chrisgall.com
Revenge of the Dinotrux, Substitute Creacher, Dinotrux.

B.G. Hennessy – illustrator www.bghennessey.com
Scary Places Map Book: Corduroy Lost and Found, The Once Upon a Time Map Book

Molly Idle – Illustrator/author of picture books – www.idleillustration.com
Tea and Rex
(4/2013), Flora and the Flamingo (2/2013), Molly Idle Flip Over Book

Erin Jade Lange – author of novels for teens – Butter - www.erinlange.com

Tom Leveen - author of novels for teens – Zero, Party www.tomleveen.com
Manicpixiedreamgirl
(4/2013)

Susan Lowell – author of picture books – http://www.susanlowell.com/
The Three Little Javelinas, Josefina Javelina, A Very Hairy Christmas

Lisa McMann – author of fantasy novels for teens and middle grades – www.lisamcmann.com
Crash
(Visions series, 1/2013), Trap Door (Infinity Ring Series 2/2013), Island of Silence (Unwanteds series), Dead to You

DeAnn Melton & Ellen A. Cook – author and illustrator, picture book
Miracle Maxx
, www.miraclemaxx.com

Seth Muller – author, Native American fantasy – www.sethmuller.com
The Great Gathering, The Day of Storms, Canyon Crossing.

S.D. Nelson – Illustrator and author, Native American traditional literature and biographieshttp://www.sdnelson
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. Walking on Earth and Touching the Sky, Greet the Dawn, Buffalo Bird Girl: A Hidatsa Story

Michelle Parker-Rock – Author of biographies. www.MichelleParker-Rock.com, Linda Sue Park, An Author Kids Love, Christopher Paul Curtis, An Author Kids Love

Stephanie R. Pearmain – author, nonfiction picture book – http://www.stephaniepearmain.com/
Animal BFFs: Extraordinary Ties between Unusual Friends
.

Charline Profiri – author of books for young children – www.cprofiri.com
Guess Who’s in the Desert
(3/2013), Counting Little Geckos

Guy Porfirio – illustrator, picture books – http://guyporfirio.com
Jump, Junk Man’s Daughter

Janette Rallison (C. J. Hill) – author of teen fantasy; realistic fiction for middle grades/teens. www.janetterallison.com
My Unfair Godmother, Blue Eyes and Other Teenage Hazards
Erasing Time
(C.J. Hill), Slayers: Book 2 (C.J. Hill)

Grace Anne Remey – Author of a picture book about military deployment. 9-years-old. www.lionspridemilitary.com
Lion’s Pride: A Tail of Deployment

Adam Rex – author and illustrator of picture books and middle grade/teen fictionwww.adamrex.com
Chu’s Big Day
(2/2013), Unlucky Charms (2/2013), Cold Cereal

Sheri Sinykin - author of middle grade novels and picture books – www.sherisinykin.com
Zadie Comes to Live, Giving Up the Ghost

Jan Sonnenmair – photographer and illustrator – http://www.sonnenmair.com/
Cowboy UP! Ride the Navajo Rodeo.

Midji Stephenson – author of nonfiction Grand Canyon book – www.midjistephenson.com
Whose Tail on the Trail at Grand Canyon

Conrad Storad – author of nonfiction books and picture books – www.conradstorad.com
Call Me Tuesday (2/2013), Fang and Stinger (2/2013), Arizona: Color Me Wacky, Your Circulatory System, My Science Library Series

Authors from Other Areas of the Festival

Juan Felipe Herrera – poet and author of books for middle grade/teen readers and picture books
Skate Fate. The Upside Down Boy/El nino de cabeza. Calling the Doves: El canto de las palamas. Half of the World in Light
(adult) www.creativewriting.ucr.edu/people/herrera/

Joy Harjo –Author of picture books based in Native American culture (Muskogee Nation)mekkopoet@earthlink.net
For a Girl Becoming, The Good Luck Cat

Guadalupe Garcia McCall – adolescent author of books focusing on Latinos – http://guadalupegarciamccall.com/
Under the Mesquite, Summer of the Mariposas

Stephan Pastis – cartoonist (Pearls Before Swine comic strip). Middle grade novel – www.stephanpastis.wordpress.com
Timmy Failure: Mistakes were Made (Feb. 2013), Pearls Freaks Out, Larry in Wonderland.

Stephen Swinburne – author of science/nature information books – www.steveswinburne.com
Ocean Soup, Sea Turtle Scientist, Coyote, Lots and Lots of Zebra Stripes.

Sneed Collard, III – author of science books and science mysteries – www.sneedbcollardiii.com
Animal Dads, Sneed B. Collard III’s Most Fun Book Ever About Lizards, Science Warriors, Cartwheel
(2/13), Double Eagle.

Jennifer Ward – author of picture books on nature and animals – www.jenniferwardbooks.com
What Will Hatch
(2/13), There Was An Old Pirate Who Swallowed a Fish, It’s a Jungle Out There: 52 Nature Adventures for City Kids. Way Out in the Desert, The Seed and the Giant Saguaro

 

 

  • News

    Twitter Updates

    Worlds of Words on Facebook

    Manuscript Call for WOW Review open themed and books highlighting Humor in International Children’s International Literature . . .

    FloraWOW Book Fiesta welcomes Molly Idle on Sat., Sept. 13th and her new book Flora and the Penguin. Details here.

    The Cooperative Children's Book Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison show a continued decline in the number of books depicting characters of color in 2013. Read more . . .

    Keep an eye on the Calendar for more WOW events!

    New format for WOW Stories