The Little Doctor

In this engaging bilingual picture book for children ages 4-8, a young Salvadoran boy dreams of becoming a doctor who speaks both English and Spanish so that patients like his beloved grandmother aren’t afraid to visit the doctor. Paired with lively, colorful illustrations by Victoria Castillo, this book will encourage children to think about their own futures as well as the role their culture can play in helping the community.

Work And More Work

Tom lives in the countryside in the mid 1800s, and he’s curious what is it like in the town, the city, and the world beyond? It’s all “work and more work,” everyone tells him. Determined to find out for himself, Tom sets off with a bit of bread and cheese in a bundle. He encounters crowded marketplaces, bustling wharves, and storms on the high seas.

Game Day

What goes on behind the scenes when athletes compete?Not everyone can be an athlete, but that doesn’t stop thousands of others from participating in world-class sporting events. When Patrick Reynolds realized that he couldn’t be a race car driver, he turned his love of cars into a successful career as a NASCAR mechanic.A passion for grass and baseball led Nicole Sherry to become the groundskeeper at Camden Yards in Baltimore, Maryland.Author Kevin Sylvester tells the stories of 19 talented and dedicated behind-the-scenes stars of the sports world. In this new book, the glamour of the frontline athletes takes a backseat to the hardworking people whose jobs are critical to the success of their sport but often go unacknowledged.Readers will discover some very special people who have devoted their lives to supporting the sports they love, including the eagle-eyed baseball scout for the Chicago White Sox, the members of the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders and the doctor who treats injured players on the Canadian Olympic soccer team.With its real-life stories and lively photographs, Game Day will delight any young sports fan or wannabe athlete.

Chief Rhino To The Rescue! (Whoops-A-Daisy World)

chiefChief Rhino is the bravest person in Whoops-a-Daisy World, so when he sees the flicker of flames in a window, he knows he must race to the rescue. If anyone can save the day, Chief Rhino can! In this new adventure from Whoops-a-Daisy World, children can spot their old friends from Doctor Meow’s Big Emergency in the background and make new friends, too.  Sam Lloyd’s humorous, brightly colored art is thoroughly kid-friendly and will appeal to fans of Curious George and Richard Scarry’s Busytown books.