Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

WOW Teen Reading Ambassadors Present Matt Mendez

April 27 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Matt Mendez PortraitWOW Teen Reading Ambassadors invite you to meet Matt Mendez.

In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña, Barely Missing Everything is a heartbreaking, no-holds-barred debut novel that explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you—your life, brown lives—don’t matter.

Like his characters, Matt Mendez grew up in central El Paso, Texas. He is also the author of the short story collection Twitching Heart. He lives with his wife and two daughters in Tucson, Arizona.

The program includes a brief presentation, a question and answer period and time for snacks and personal interactions with the author. The UA BookStores offers books for sale and autographing during this event. The workshop also includes two free hours of professional development, so invite your favorite teacher.

Free parking is available at the surface parking lot north of the intersection of First and Vine. Paid parking is available at the Second St. Garage next door to the College of Education. Located just off of the 2nd St. streetcar stop.

WOW Teen Reading Ambassadors are sponsored by Libraries LTD and Literary Society of Tucson.

Teen Reading Ambassador author meetings occur every other month throughout the academic year and are open to the public. This free program for area high school students encourages teens to promote reading in their own contexts. Additional information on the Teen Reading Ambassadors is available on our website.

Event details may change. More information to follow.

Details

Date:
April 27
Time:
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,

Venue

Worlds of Words
1430 E Second St, Rm 453
Tucson, AZ 85721 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
520.621.9340

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *