From My Window

What do you see from your window? This #OwnVoices picture book from Brazil offers a first-hand view of what children growing up in the favelas of Rio de Janiero see everyday. A vibrant and diverse celebration of urban community living, brought to life by unique, colorful illustrations that juxtapose brick buildings with lush jungle plants.

Ye

Ye is a curious young man, named after the only sound he knows how to make. His voice must have been stolen by the Colorless King, the source of all the world’s sorrows — terrifying, unrelenting, all-taking and never-giving. Now, Ye has no choice but to embark on a long voyage over land and sea, past grizzled pirates, a drunken clown, and more, to find the famous witch who can help him defeat the Colorless King. What he discovers may be a lesson for us all. Young cartoonist Guilherme Petreca won Brazil’s prestigious HQ Mix Award for Best Artist due to the unforgettable imagery on every page of Ye, his first full-length graphic novel. In the tradition of The Little Prince, The Neverending Story, and A Wrinkle in Time, this graphic fable will leave young and old readers awestruck and eager to relive the journey.

Old Man of the Sea

Every Sunday, Grandpa waited for me in his room, and I took my place at the foot of the bed. There were days when Grandpa wanted to talk, and days when we sat in silence. Then one day, Grandpa began telling me stories about his life at sea―tales of love and adventure and danger on the ocean waves. And that’s when I learned who my grandpa really was.

Mondo babosa

Nothing out of the ordinary seems to happen: a cat wakes from its nap to chase a red butterfly. But they start to turn the pages… and the cat is the guide into a strange, textless world that will become more and more atypical, which begins and ends and begins again, like a tape of Moevius.

Doña Elba

An older lady discovers that her house is infested with dragons! Shocked, she’ll try everything to scare them away: cold water, or poison. But nothing worked. Until one day her grandson payed her a visit: for the child, those beings will be fun and draw you home, freeing your grandmother.

The Ugly One

Micay has a deep scar that runs like a river from her right eye to her lip. The boys in her Incan village bully her because of it, and most of the adults ignore her. So she keeps to herself and tries to hide the scar with her long hair, drawing comfort from her family and her faith in the Sun God, Inti. Then a stranger traveling from his jungle homeland to the Sacred Sun City at Machu Picchu gives her a baby macaw, and the path of her life changes

Lifecycles: Rainforest

The rainforest is one of the most bio-diverse environments on the planet with some of the most amazing creatures on earth. In this first introduction to lifecycles in three different rainforests, young readers learn how animals they might not expect-like the Amazon’s leaf cutter ant and the jaguar, or Borneo’s butterflies and saltwater crocodiles-are part of the same food chain. At the end of each spread, readers use a picture clue to guess which predator is about to pounce. At the end of the book, young scientists explore how the three chains interact to form a food web, the basis for all life in an ecosystem. Age appropriate text and dynamic photographs make this a perfect introduction to this core scientific concept.

Brazil: The People

This book explores how the history, climate, geography, and religion of Brazil have shaped the customs and practices of modern daily life for some of the poorest and some of the wealthiest people in South America.